WCLC Family

President: Phyllis Sherard

VP OF POP. HEALTH / CSO – Cheyenne Regional Medical Center

Vice President: Lori Brand

Attorney at Law

Secretary/Treasurer: Mary Doherty

Degree in Accounting, working in Business/Economic Development

Board Member: Professor Emeritus John Burman

University of Wyoming College of Law

Donna Sheen, JD, MPA, CWLS – Director/Attorney

Donna founded the Wyoming Children’s Law Center in 2009. She is a 2001 Graduate of the University of Wyoming College of Law. She is a Child Welfare Law Specialist. Donna has been admitted to Federal and State court. She has been an advocate for children’s legal rights for many years. She is a parent of a child with special needs and also completed a graduate assistant-ship with W.I.N.D. (Wyoming Institute for Disabilities).

Katie Osten, JD – Staff Attorney

Katie moved to Wyoming from Nebraska in 2008 and she joined our team March of 2016. Katie received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Legal Studies from Chadron State College in 2008. She completed her J.D. at the University of Wyoming College of Law in 2014 and is licensed to practice law in Wyoming within Federal and State Court. Katie is now our attorney for the free service cases.

Shontay M. Roe, MSW, LCSW

Our resident Family Tree Services Program Director, Mediator and Social Work Service Provider. Her professional career working with families began 20 years ago working with families through her employment at Department of Family Services. Her professional experience includes working with more than 250 students as the Field Education Director for the University of Wyoming’s Division of Social Work, when systems collide- working with families in the court system, investigations, mediation, crisis management and transition support. Her areas of interest include program and policy development. Shontay received her Bachelors in Social Science (07), MSW (10), mediation without boarders training (10), forensic Interviews (11), Child and Family Investigator Training (13) and restorative justice (17)

Sonja Bartrop – Administrative & Program Coordinator

Sonja is a Laramie native and joined the team in March of 2015. She has extensive prior work experience in various service sectors and bookkeeping. She is a 2014 graduate of the CLIMB Wyoming Program. Sonja is a very bright, dedicated and hard-working addition to our team and has life experiences that have proven to be a great asset to the Center. Her background is well suited to working with the youth & family populations we serve as she experienced many challenges in her own youth and has overcome many obstacles.

College Students:

Spring Semester:

  • Patricia – Law student

We have had a total of 17 students, including current students, from different degree programs come into our office over the years. Of those 17, we have had 5 of them return for a second semester with us. We love having the students in our office to teach and provide an alternative way of learning. It shows them what they can really do with the interests that they are passionate about.